The Stranger in Class


The 120 engineering students in my classroom were unusually quiet as I entered. Then I spotted a disheveled elderly man, half-lying, half-sitting, with a bottle wrapped in a brown bag sticking in out of the pocket of his long coat. I could feel the students’ eyes focused on me.

“Sir, this is a classroom,” I explained. “I’ll have to ask you to leave.” No reaction. “If  you don’t, I’ll have to call a security,” I continued. Still no movement. Then I had an idea.

“Sir, we’re having an exam this morning. If you stay, you’ll have to take it.” He left.

-Vladimir Hornof

Leave a Reply

